minimalism, Project 333, scaling back, Uncategorized

So, I like how I wrote one blog entry in June with the promise to write more and…crickets. Once I get writing I’m good to go but getting there is hard. Everything I want to say is in my brain all jumbled together and I have a hard time organizing myself. Maybe I should make an outline before I commit to an entry. Either way, I want to write more. I am hoping that a little project I am starting tomorrow will renew my focus, not just on this project but on lots of things. Because, well, I really need it.

For a while now I have had the clean out bug. I have gone through all of our stuff multiple times, boxed things up, and gone to Diversity to donate said items. The main target of this possession purge is my side of the closet. Our 1965 split level was built before the days of walk in closets and big bedrooms so closet space is at a premium. For a long time it’s been hard to slide my hangers down the bar but with getting rid of some things it’s started to get easier. Yet, it’s still not enough for me.

I came across the idea of a capsule wardrobe on Pinterest. The term piqued my interest and I did a little research. Some great websites featuring this idea are INTO MIND (there are worksheets!), Unfancy, and bemorewithless. I’m sure there are plenty of other great ones but I’m just starting out. The last website is where I found Project 333. Basically, you go through all your stuff and select 33 items, committing to wearing those and only those garments for the next 3 months. YIKES. That was my first instinct. But, if the end goal is feeling 10 times better about the scaled down wardrobe you create yourself, I’d say this is a pretty great way to get moving. So that’s what I’m doing. I went through and made my list. Anything not on the list went into the closet in the office. The door is closed and I don’t plan to open it until the end of February.

Here’s what I’ve got to get me through the winter!

1. Straight leg blue jeans

2. Gray jeans

3. Black leggings

4. Lavender jeans

5. Big white sweater

6. Teal cardigan

7. Gray cardigan

8. Colorful flannel shirt

9. Long sleeve anchor shirt

10. Black and white short sleeved shirt

11. Blue and red striped hoodie

12. White fleece

13. White sweater w/ Peter Pan collar

14. Black light sweater

15. Purple mandala sweatshirt

16-18. Tanks (gray, burgundy, white)

19. Black wrap dress

20. Teal flats

21. Black boots

22. Brown boots

23. Brown ankle boots

24. Moccassins

25. Black Danskos

26. Roxy flats

27. Long sleeve shirt (buying tomorrow)

28. Wool sweater Mom bought in Scotland

29. Green J. Crew sweater

30. Purple sleeveless top

31. Purple scarf

32. Yellow scarf

33. Red toggle pullover

My 333.

My 333.

Now, in this challenge, you can adjust. I noticed that I put an awful lot of shoes on this list but if I decide I have too many shoes and not enough of something else I can move it around a little. But, in looking at what is left, it’s all my favorite stuff. It’s warm, pretty basic stuff of good qualiity. All of these items are what I mainly wear anyways. My hope is that the next 3 months offers me a chance to fully practice what I hope to see myself doing as I pare down my closet. I want this to be an exercise in mindfulness about my consumption habits. I also want it to be something that helps me focus on other things. If I’m not spending time trying to figure out what to wear or what to buy to wear, what else can I do in that time? I have some ideas about that, too. I’m going to give it a few days before I go into all that. In the meantime, here’s all the good info I’ll be using as I give this whole thing a go.

Project 333

Project 333 Facebook Page

Project 333 Pinterest Board

If anyone plans on doing this too let me know! I’d love to hear about other people’s experiences.

#Project333. A slight change of pace.

Aside

Leave a Reply

